Darmok and Jalad at Tanagra

by Jay

Yes, I did just make my first post title about a STTNG episode. Though I considered going with a famous Kosh quote “And so it begins…”, but you don’t know who Kosh is so who the fuck cares.

I’m here for one reason and one reason only. And that’s to create and start my own journey as a writer, something I’ve never seen myself doing. Even though I’ve been writing since I could hold a pencil. Crazy right? Hey buddy, how old was Newton when he got bopped by the apple? That’s what I’m sayin’.

So here I am, doing what my soul wants to do, with glitter and dancing and forests, fork-in-the-road type stuff. Glean whatever you want from that, because it’s supposed have a side of existentialism type Sylvia Plath-ness to it. Or… I just described a scene from Big Fish.

When you think about that word– writer, as a descriptor of who I am, it seems a tad bit folly. After all, with all the hopes and dreams of my mother, who’s rabid determination for her only child to become a doctor or a lawyer or a priest evolved into the, um, next best thing; someone who gives shitty advice on how RA Dickey is going to be an ace for the Blue Jays, well, then you know what’s up. Fuck me, amiright?

But do what you know, or teach what you have, or be too cool for school, or whatever the perfect saying is, put that here. Actually, this is one I like: ‘If you’re good at something, never do it for free.’ There you go. As Leonardo DiCaprio once said, “In America, it’s bling bling. But out here it’s bling bang.” While I’m in America, I am also still way out here, which is to say, the quote still fits here because I have no idea where I am, in a metaphorical sense. But really, I just wanted to share that quote. It’s a keeper.

But to elaborate on that gibberish, this blog will be a process of discovery, not just through the game I’ve been playing and writing about for so long, but for everything I ever wanted to say about anything. And being able drop as many f-bombs as I want. This is key.

I’m not necessarily here to be silly, but neither am I here to be serious. I have an opinion on all things in this world, and I’d love to share. If you want to read it, well then, that makes this a team effort. So go team!

For those who know me over at Razzball, I’ll still be focussing on what I do best, and that’s talk about baseball. But maybe less-so in a fantasy context. So, rest assured, my focus will still gravitate to the game I know and love a lot, so we’ll talk about baseball, without the basement/dateless nerd aspect I do in other places. But I’ll also write about movies, dating, television, politics, basket weaving, no rock will be left unturned. Well, I won’t reference country music that much, so that rock will stay in it’s place. Or, you know, it gets the lotion in the basket.

And while this blog is more for me than for you, after all, the name of the place is, ahem, my name, not yours. I still would like to believe that I’m doing this for something greater, more valiant, to create a better world for everyone.

But really, I just want mo’ money to make a bunch of sammiches and buy an ownership stake in one of those cool Alpaca farms. So, who knows how to put ads on this sucker?

Welcome to the Desultory Thoughts of a Longfellow.

